January 23rd, 2017Hall of Fame Class of 2017 Announced

2017 Basketball BC Hall of Fame Announcement

Basketball BC Hall of Fame Selection Committee Chair, John Buis, said.  “I have had the pleasure of talking to all of the living inductees as well as some of the families of those no longer with us and that is an experience that I cherish.  As this is our 15th year of the Induction Gala, these 10 inductees will join 52 athletes, 20 coaches, 8 officials, 21 builders and 14 teams who represent significant involvement in basketball over the past 80+ years.  The span and breadth of this group of inductees is amazing; including 3 builders who have contributed so much to our sport in significant and various ways, gold medal Paralympic athletes, a 1920 & 30’s legend, an Olympic Games’ official, a U-Sport (CIAU/ CIS) athlete who continued to an exceptional post-university career, one of the most successful university coaches in our country and a Canadian National Senior Men’s champion team. “



Marni Abbott-Peter
Richard Peter
Randy Nohr
Wally Mayers

Deb Huband

Devona Adams
Mel Briggeman
Doug Harshbarger

George Siborne

1967-68 Vancouver IGA Grocers

Lawrie Johns, BBC Executive Director, added “ May 6, 2017 at the River Rock will be a tremendous day as we recognize this outstanding group of nominees, welcome previous inductees and celebrate the many, many fantastic developments in our sport’s past.  In this, our 15th anniversary of the Gala, we look forward to again welcoming the basketball community to a wonderful evening!”

For more information please contact Lawrie Johns  ljohns@basketball.bc.ca or 778-621-2002
To order tickets go to our Registration page

Supporters and Partners