April 27th, 2015Basketball BC Hall of Fame


April 27, 2015   For Immediate Release

Hall of Fame Inductees Ken Dockendorf, Howard Tsmura, Joby McKenzie, Jack May

PIctured in photo:Hall of Fame Individual Inductees: Ken Dockendorf, Howard Tsumura, Joby McKenzie, Jack May.

Also inducted into the Hall of Fame Bob Burtwell (deceased), 36/37 UBC Men's Team and the 48/49 Clover Leafs

Basketball BC’s 13th Annual Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Gala on Saturday the 25th at the Langley Events Centre recognized the following:

            Hall of Fame Inductees

            Category                      Inductee, Home (Residence)

            Builder                         Jack May, Kelowna

                                                 Howard Tsumura Delta


            Athlete                        Joby McKenzie  Mission (Toronto)

                                                Bob Burtwell Richmond (deceased)


            Coach                          Ken Dockendorf Maple Ridge


            Team                           1936/1937 UBC Men's Team

                                                 1948/1949 Clover Leafs


Also recognized were athletes at various levels as Outstanding Players

            High School Aged Athletes

            Category          Name   (Univ commitment)     School             Coach 

            Female                Tayla Jackson  (U Cal Irvine)   Brookswood      Neil Brown

            Male                     Jacquin Bennett-Boire (none)  Yale                 Euan Roberts


            Ed Terris scholarship for female athlete committed to a CIS or CCAA school

            Jessica Hanson   Little Flower Academy  Coaches Kevin Hanson/Doug Beers
            Committed to UBC

            Male -TBA                  


            College - PACWEST

            Female                 Shayna Cameron                     Quest              Dany Charlery

            Male                     Justin King                               VIU                 Matt Kuzminski


            BC University

            Female (tie)     Kristjana Young                       UBC                  Deb Huband

                                    Erin Chambers                         SFU                  Bruce Langford


            Male                Chris McLaughlin                      UVIC                Craig Beaucamp


Lawrie Johns, Basketball BC Executive Director commented:  “Another great night of celebration and recognition of our sport.  Close to 200 people joined us and thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to mix with all types of experience in our sport representing 80 years of contribution.  It was so much fun we can hardly wait for #14!”


Hall Of Fame Press Release

Photos of the Night

Supporters and Partners